Go Travel Argentina !




Previous Posts

Tuesday, April 04, 2006

Tierra del Fuego, Antarctica and South Atlantic Islands

Map of Tierra del FuegoThe official name of the province is "Tierra del Fuego, Antarctica and South Atlantic Islands". It has a population of 101,079, and the Capital is Ushuaia. It’s the southernmost province of Argentina.

Climate: it’s extremely cold. The annual average temperature is 41 degrees Fahrenheit, with annual average precipitation of 500 mm.

Geography: there are low plateaus in the north and the center of the province. In the south, the Andes mountain system runs horizontally. Tierra del Fuego ("land of fire") is isolated from the continent by the Strait of Magellan, which communicates the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans.

History: originally inhabited by several tribes (like the onas and yamanas) since 10,000 years ago, the region was discovered in 1520 by Ferdinand Magellan, who gave the place its actual name.


  • Ushuaia is the southernmost city of the world. Navigation of the Beagle Channel is one of the most attractive experiences in the zone. Other activities that can be done are trekking, mountain bike, canotage, kayak, fishing and diving. The city has 6 ski centers. You can also visit the Museum at the End of the World.
  • Rio Grande has achieved international fame for its excellent fishing opportunities. It has 5 of 7 world records.
  • Antarctica: in summer, cruisers take visitors to Antarctica, where they can explore the surroundings and see bird colonies, sea lions, and other animals.
  • Les Eclaireurs Lighthouse: also called the Lighthouse at the End of the World, after the book of Jules Verne. The writer actually referred to the one that stands on the Island of the States ("Isla de los Estados"), which also belongs to this province.

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home